By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a curated Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 in Coimbatore | 23rd Edition: 16th – 17th – February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Maker: Deepika Vaishnavi, Textile Designer and Illustrator

Tell us a bit about yourself.

IMG_5572.JPGaI am a textile designer, and pattern creation is my passion. I absolutely love turning my patterns into products so that people can include them in their everyday living space.

How would you describe what you do; and how long have you been making and creating? 

Drama – Decor for you and your home is essentially a lifestyle brand. Launched two years ago with a small collection of handmade lamps (diyas) and cushion covers, it was for a target audience who loved “drama” and making a statement. As a textile design student, I always leaned towards vivid colours and contemporary style, and this continues today.

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart. 

IMG_5957a

Currently, Drama houses a collection of cushion covers, ceramic mugs and designer yoga mats. We would like to launch a new range of stationery products at the August edition of By Hand, From the Heart.

Can you describe your work place / space? 

IMG_5953.JPGa

I have my own design corner – my table and noticeboard which I fill with pictures of anything I find interesting or inspiring. A small radio for music. The view outside my window is great and I usually work late at night with a cup of coffee!

What is a typical day at “Drama” like.

DSCN9983a

As an entrepreneur, one of the biggest challenges I feel is that you have to set your own pace. As easy as this sounds, working as a designer from home has many distractions. A typical day usually starts  with phone calls to check if work is getting done as well as ensuring that I meet my design deadlines.

What/who inspires you? Or how do you find inspiration? 

DSC_4702.JPGa

As clichéd as this sounds, I love everything inherently “Indian”. Growing up in Chennai, the local flavour of the city is truly an inspiration for me. I am always on the lookout for any design inspirations while travelling in India or abroad.
One of the definitions I learned while studying textile design is that it is “art with a function”…and that is my design mantra!

Can you describe your creative process and what is the most rewarding part of the creative process for you? 

My creative process is very systematic. I jot down ideas and inspirations, create a mood board, make sketches and then work on them.The most rewarding part of the creative process is seeing my products evolve from sketches to a finished product. A true feeling of accomplishment.

What’s the best thing about being a crafter / designer?

Channeling my creative energy everyday and working alongside people from different walks of life.

What would you say to someone thinking about selling their work? 

Keep it simple and be passionate about your work. Have integrity in what you do and believe in yourself.

Anything exciting on the cards for the coming months? 

Right now, we are excited about this exhibition – I really hope that Drama will make a positive impression on all the patrons.

Deepika Vaishnavi will showcase her works at the By Hand, From The Heart Artisan & Farmers Market | 7- 8 August 2015 | 10 a.m – 8 p.m | Hanu Reddy Residences, 41/19, Poes Garden, Teynampet, Chennai.
Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/791353340961431/

2 comments on “Meet The Maker: Deepika Vaishnavi, Textile Designer and Illustrator

  1. Rubini Bharath
    July 19, 2015

    Superb work…

    • Deepika Vaishnavi
      July 19, 2015

      Why, thank you Rubini! Hope to see you at the exhibition.

Leave a Reply

