By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

A curated makers market event in Chennai, India. Upcoming Event: 7th – 8th July, 2017 Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

Meet The Maker: Archana Avinash, Jewelry Designer and Crystal Healer

1102448_10151604293149422_917995888_o

Tell us a bit about yourself.

We all like pretty things with a purpose, whether its eco friendly Clothing or Organic food, we seem to feel the energy shift in these products that have a higher calling. And while we are still suckers for Stylish stuff, we cant help but be drawn towards products that truly make a difference in the long run.

IMG_3280Welcome everyone! I am Archana Avinash, Designer & Owner at Strings & Beads, a conscious lifestyle brand that marries crystal healing and gorgeous jewelry to help create balance and fulfillment in your everyday life. Being raised in a very Orthodox Tam-Bram Family I went on to finish my Grad & Post Grad in regular mainstream subjects. But my love for Fashion & Jewelry was something that I noticed since very young. With social pressure & many responsibilities I worked in the corporate for over 5+years, post which I decided to Quit and follow my passion in Jewelry. And thus was born “Strings & Beads” in Jan 2011 in the Middle East.

In the beginning it was regular artificial jewelry, slowly & steadily I moved to Silver & eventually a few years ago the shift to healing Jewelry happened very naturally.

How would you describe what you do; and how long have you been making and creating?

Desktop43Following the height of my own personal journey with healing stones and crystals, I became a Crystal Healer and started a line of Healing Jewelry under my existing brand “S&B” in Jan 2013. I found an intersection between faith and science, spirituality and fashion, & coupled the knowledge of minerals I had learnt over the period of time with my ability to create Jewelry that would not just look nice, but also will heal and uplift the person.

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart Artisan Market.

IMG_1662My recent works include Crystal bags & Healing Pouches, along with other healing bracelets. Carrying a crystal pouch or bag of crystals is one of the most versatile and oldest modalities for crystal healing. You can hang your healing crystal bags in your home, carry them with you in your purse, and place them on your nightstand or even under your pillow. And the possibility of crystal healing stones combinations is endless. Currently we have about 7 varieties in this product line & each one is different from the other.

Through the healing powers of gemstones and crystals, Every single Strings & Beads piece is mindfully crafted to help break through barriers, achieve clarity, and manifest miracles At the By Hand From The Heart Show, I will be creating a “Crystal Bar” Concept where the visitors will get to see various Crystals (in the form of beads) and can know about their healing properties and also request for Custom Orders of bracelets on the spot, along with some very beautiful Charms that have been hand crafted for this event from Indonesia.

I will also be bringing other healing products like Sage smudge sticks, Himalayan Salt Lamps, Crystal Pendants, Healing necklaces and more.

Can you describe your work place / space?

image2I have a “studio” from where I work out in my Bangalore residence. It’s very important for me that my space has a lot of positivity & hence I have filled it with lots of Colour, Buddha (My Inspiration & My go-to Zen), and lots of soothing music while I work
.

What is a typical day at “Strings & Beads” like.

11101130_925911547459579_2718808846162524788_n

My day begins at 5 AM and I usually meditate for about 20 minutes. Meditation is very important to me as it Grounds me and brings me the inner peace & Clarity I need. As a mother of a 6 year old, the next couple of hours is usually preparing the child and sending him to school. Once he leaves I am replying to all my emails & messages. For the next few hours I am usually putting together some Jewelry & planning for the upcoming month- stocks & new products. If I have any consultations & appointments (Tarot, Chakra, Crystal Healing, Reikhi) I usually finish it before 3 PM, so I am available for my family after that.

What/who inspires you? Or how do you find inspiration?

11140318_957778947606172_2259745535608697598_n
I am inspired by Travel & the different ethnic cultures. If you look into my past collections, you will notice that I am constantly taking inspirations from the traditional and recreating very modern pieces of wearable art.

When it comes to healing, I am very drawn towards the concept of “law of Attraction” and I believe in it very strongly and have seen miraculous manifestations not just in my life but also in the life of those who are very close to me. A concept that was instilled in me by grand parents who kept reminding me of the Sanskrit saying “Yad Bhavam, Tad Bhavati” (You become whatever you think). So, I believe very strongly that “your mind is a powerful thing. When you fill it with positive thoughts, your life will start to change.” And this thought inspires me over & over again.

Can you describe your creative process and what is the most rewarding part of the creative process for you?

IMG_3316

Every Strings & Beads piece is created and shaped by what we need in our lives, what my clients have expressed they are looking for or what the planet needs to consciously evolve. It’s constantly shifting & changing – we have no set formula because we deal with energy, which is constantly evolving.

But when I pick up a string of Beads, I intuitively know what I have to do with them. And I always respect my intuition and work according to the guidance I receive from my masters and the Angels.

What’s the best thing about being a designer?

The best thing for me is that I have no boundaries & I am free to work and design what I want. I am wild, I am Goddess and for me, Strings & Beads is a conscious lifestyle brand, providing tools of empowerment, inspiration and hope in the form of jewelry.

What would you say to someone thinking about selling their work?

It’s very important to be different in a crowd. No matter what you do- do it differently. There is a place for everyone in this world. There is a market for all products. Believe in what you do & give your best. The Universe will take care of the Rest.

Anything exciting on the cards for the coming months?

We have already started retailing at multiple boutiques in Chennai, Bangalore & Hyderabad. Other Cities are catching up. We hope to be there in all Metro’s by the year-end.

Archana Avinash, will present a Crystal Bar & Healing Jewelry at the By Hand, From The Heart Artisan & Farmers Market | 7- 8 August 2015 | 10 a.m – 8 p.m | Hanu Reddy Residences, 41/19, Poes Garden, Teynampet, Chennai.

Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/791353340961431/

Leave a Reply

