By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 , Jenney Residency, Coimbatore. 23rd Edition: February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Maker: Shwetha Sripad, Clothing Designer

By Hand, From The Heart Artisan & Farmers Market

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Shwetha, mom of one, love all things Indian, love my artistic inclination, love to make things – lots of crafty things, completely a craftoholic!

How would you describe what you do; and how long have you been making and creating?

My desire is to make adorable designs for little girls; that you can’t resist picking up. I’ve just started out and love experimenting with new ideas; every new design that comes through – gives me a new high.

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart.

By Hand, From The Heart Artisan & Farmers Market

BHFTH will be my first showcase and I’m super eager to find out how Chennai will react to my ideas. Also, I have crafted designs specially for organic cotton dresses, and would like to see how patrons take to it.

What is a typical day at “Adorable Little Things” like. 

Playing with colours, ribbons and dressing up your little girl is what a typical day is like. Fun!

What/who inspires you? Or how do you find inspiration?

My little girl all the way! My idea is to make simple clothes without too many cuts or embellishments with a hint of rustic. Just simple stuff that is easy to wear and exudes class at the same time; like pillowcase dresses, shift dresses and swing dresses. My experience is that the market is full of imported stuff from South east Asia; which lacks a great deal of originality. I believe that the Indian mother deserves far better.

Can you describe your creative process and what is the most rewarding part of the creative process for you?

bAny creative process is messy, and has an inherently low rate of success. Not only do I enjoy making things, but it also reminds me of who I am and where I have come from. What is most rewarding when you see when the picture that was in my head coming to life!

What’s the best thing about being a crafter / designer?

Do what you love; love what you do and set your own standards. That’s the best thing!

What would you say to someone thinking about selling their work?

People are constantly looking for something out of the box. Go for it!

 Anything exciting on the cards for the coming months?

Planning to reach the online space soon and definitely excited about it.

Shwetha will showcase her collection of girls clothing at the By Hand, From The Heart Artisan & Farmers Market | 7- 8 August 2015 | 10 a.m – 8 p.m | Hanu Reddy Residences, 41/19, Poes Garden, Teynampet, Chennai.

Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/791353340961431/

Leave a Reply

