By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

A curated makers market event in Chennai, India. Upcoming Event: 7th – 8th July, 2017 Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

Meet The Maker: Tasneem Ayub, Home Baker & Chef

Tasneem Ayub's Ammees Kitchen_By Hand From The Heart _Chennai

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I was born in chennai to illustrious well known parents from diverse regions of India. Have been fond of food and been cooking since I was 6 .

Do you come from a food background?

No background of food but a passion for cooking and enjoying good food.

Why do you love to create and make? Or how do you find inspiration?

A well being of a person stems from good food and a happy environment. I find inspiration from the joy food served brings me.

What’s your personal favorite dish? Which is your proudest? 

Tasneem Ayub's Ammees Kitchen_By Hand From The Heart _Chennai My ZAFFRANI BADAM sweet, the recipe which is handed down by generation.

Tell us about your range & the new products’ what will you showcase at  the By Hand, From The Heart.

Tasneem Ayub's Ammees Kitchen_By Hand From The Heart _Chennai (7)It’s the 1st time I will be presenting an all vegetarian range of desserts and multi-cuisine food along with my popular egg-based desserts and multi-cuisine food. Look out for my refined sugar-free desserts too.

Can you describe your work place / space?  

At home, I have  a separate kitchen for my entrails. Its my domain and my heaven where the best of me comes out. I am obsessed with certain brands and having the best quality ingredients and there is no compromise in this regards. I source my ingredients from all over India and different parts of the world.

What is a typical day at Ammees Kitchen like.

My day starts sometimes as early as 5 am if I have a lunch order to cater. From managing home, to sorting the days orders, I have cook/bake and execute them plus organise their timely deliveries. This hardly gives me time to sit and rest. If am not cooking, you will probably find me grocery shopping.

What is the most rewarding part of the creative process for you?

Client feedback of course! When I get calls and messages from people, telling me how much they enjoyed my food, it is the ultimate kick.  It’s when my tired feet and aching hands find all the effort and hard work worth it!

What’s the best thing about being a food artisan?

I feel food unites people of all caste, creed or religion. My knowledge and expertise has opened up so many opportunities to interact with some of the best Chefs from the industry. And I also feel that it is mandatory to share your expertise. So I love to teach and learn knew cuisines because that is how I can grow as a cook too.

Do you have any advice for aspiring food entrepreneurs?

Put your heart and soul into what you do, success will come to you. Dedication, hard work and commitment is the first step towards any venture.

Anything exciting on the cards for the coming months? 

I will be launching my Corporate lunch packages soon; it will be called Ammee’s Lunch Box. I want to provide good quality home cooked food experience to the working class of food cooked with utmost care and love like how a mother would for her child or family!

Tasneem Ayub will be at the By Hand, From The Heart Artisan & Farmers Market on 8th August 2015.

Event Details: 7- 8 August 2015 | 10 a.m – 8 p.m | Hanu Reddy Residences, 41/19, Poes Garden, Teynampet, Chennai.

Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/791353340961431/

One comment on “Meet The Maker: Tasneem Ayub, Home Baker & Chef

  1. jadeybirdcrochet
    July 29, 2015

    The zaffrani baddam looks interesting and yummy x

Leave a Reply

