By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a curated Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 in Coimbatore | 23rd Edition: 16th – 17th – February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Artist: Riddhi Desai, Tinyfarm

Riddhi Desai is an illustrator and graphic designer behind ‘Tinyfarm’, a design studio based in Bangalore, India. Riddhi will be presenting her illustrations based framed prints & stationery at the 17th Edition of By Hand From The Heart event at Lalit Kala Akademi, Chennai.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

riddhi profile

I am Riddhi Desai, an illustrator and designer behind ‘Tinyfarm’. I have been working as a graphic designer for over a decade. This year (2015) I took the leap and started focusing on Tinyfarm full-time.

I love collecting books of bygone era and when I am travelling I look out for stationery.

How would you describe what you do; and how long have you been making and creating?

1

I have dabbled into many areas of design from print, website to mobile apps. Last two years I found myself drawn towards illustration. Thats where I started with personal projects around it and its been an amazing fulfilling experience.

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart.

11219094_1719827054918789_671329125918490856_n

I find myself doodling portraits / characters very often. Through this exhibit, I will be showcasing the people of Chennai, their tradition and beauty. Nature is another big inspiration and 2016 desk calendar is all about that. I have adapted some of the floral illustrations from the calendar into prints for the exhibit.

Can you describe your work place / space? 

I work from home office. There are artworks of different artists around my desk for inspiration. There is abundant natural light which is a blessing. Music keeps playing most of the time.

2

How do you get around creative blocks?

11703119_1678372909064204_8197057824607075611_n.jpg

Whenever I am stuck I either do mundane chores which helps bring back the focus, or step out to get some fresh air. Most often I go cycling, it doesn’t allow my mind to do any thinking!

What would you say to someone thinking about selling their work?

Firstly do what comes naturally to you… medium, theme, ideas, your tools. Don’t push yourself by analysing too much (I know thats very hard!). Just go with the flow and see how it takes shape.

12195962_1710355212532640_2817321935734527992_n.jpg

Chennai – your association with this city. 

I moved to Chennai after my marriage and found my love for illustration through the city and people.

What’s up next for you?

Some exciting illustration-based collaborations.

Riddhi Desai will showcase her framed illustration based prints and stationery at By Hand, From The Heart event in Chennai
Artists & Makers Market
Exhibiting Dates:  1st – 3rd & 5th – 6th February, 2016
Timings 11:00 a.m to 7:00 p.m
Venue: Lalit Kala Akademi, Regional Centre, Ground Floor Gallery,
4, Greams Road, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600 006, India.
Join the Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/1064545906911602/
Leave a Reply

