By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a curated Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 in Coimbatore | 23rd Edition: 16th – 17th – February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Artist: Beena John

Chennai based Artist, Artist Beena John talks about her art works, inspirations and her display at the By Hand, From The Heart event in Chennai. Her art works are mostly abstracts and landscapes in vibrant colors. 

Tell us a bit about yourself.

beena

I am Beena John; born in Kerala but Chennai has been my home for 55 years. I have been passionate about art since my school days, but found time to pursue this in the last 15 years. I started with realistic work but now I do mostly abstracts. I honed my skills at the Madras School of Fine Arts and Artist Gopakumar.

Can you describe your work place? 

Collage 2015-12-16 12_38_21.jpeg

I have a studio at home and at my office too. I work at both places depending on the size of the painting.

What/who inspires you? Or how do you find inspiration?

My inspiration is from nature, people around me,anything that triggers my creative spirit while travelling example; sea is not blue, trees are not green- I picture it in beautiful colours.

What’s the best thing about being an artist?

The best part of being an artist is- its therapeutic, I am in my own colorful dream world.

How do you get around creative blocks?

Just meditate, walk, do something happy, think happy – and I get rid of it.

Can you describe your creative process and what is the most rewarding part of the creative process for you?

253011_422248564488625_1452092891_n.jpg

When I get the idea and start painting the picture just develops and sometimes it turns out better than imagined ,I don’t stop till I am happy with it. The most rewarding is when your art is appreciated and people love the creation.

What would you say to someone thinking about selling their work?

Join as many exhibitions as possible – let the world see your work. Each one has a style, There is always someone out there who’ll love your work.

Chennai – your association with this city. Your observations of the Art Shopper in the city 

beena1.jpg

Chennai’s shoppers are selective and an interesting lot. I love Chennai, it has held many exhibits here, you get to see people from all over India here.

What’s next for you?

beena2.jpg

As painting is my passion I will never stop painting – breathes life into me. I am currently working with interior designers and software firms, I work with their color schemes and the sizes they need.

You have participated in an earlier edition of By Hand From The Heart; what was the experience like and what have you observed?

488346_422248631155285_832164839_n.jpg

I have showcased my art with BHFTH a few years back and the experience was awesome, meet so many passionate, talented people and audience. Got great feedback on my art.

Beena John will exhibit her paintings at the ART GROUP SHOW for the dates  1st, 2nd & 3rd February, 2016 at By Hand, From The Heart event in Chennai 
Artist & Makers Market
Timings 11:00 a.m to 7:00 p.m
At, Lalit Kala Akademi, Regional Centre, Ground Floor Gallery, 4, Greams Road, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600 006, India.
Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/1064545906911602/
The event will also feature a Makers Market
on 5th – 6th February 2016 . Same venue & timings.
Leave a Reply

