By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

A curated makers market event in Chennai, India. Upcoming Event: 7th – 8th July, 2017 Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

Meet The Artist: Aarti Karwayun

Aarti Karwayun .  Artist – creates and paints.

DC2.jpg

 

An independent artist; I create what I love. My art resonates who I am. Largely my fine art work has been stories that are centered around women. The concept idea is expressed in charcoal, one of the favorite medium that I have explored a lot.

work in progress (3).jpg

Simultaneously, a film is shot on the concept so that the intent and the meaning behind the endeavor become more real and relate-able. Keen on exploring performance art based around the concepts and stories of my collections; I intend to connect with people through my thoughts, art, and acts.

I also take up commissioned projects and collaborate with architects and interior designers for my commercial and home décor collections under ispcaceart by aarti karwayun.

How would you describe what you do; and how long have you been making and creating?

Since I studied art, panting and creating new things has been a part of me from a very long time. Even though I did leave it and chased a job for 9 odd yrs, only to come back to being an artist forever. One thing I know now is that art and creation is something that cannot be separated from my being.

What I create mostly comes from a deep place inside me and therefore the concept and story on which the art piece is crated is quite powerful. My art is who I am and my work is very much in sync with my life journey as an artist.

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart.

Participated in Art Bengaluru, Presented by The Collection at UB City in association with Sublime Galleria, Bangalore for the last three years.

Project Divinity – 2015 The work http://bit.ly/1DpSBeP | The film http://bit.ly/1CJw2ap

Never Let Go Series – 2014 The work http://bit.ly/1ffL6Bw | The film http://bit.ly/1MBm8Yg

Ispaceart by aarti karwayun was showcased in Serendipity Delhi in oct 2015- http://ispaceart.com/ispaceart-at-serendipity-delhi-oct
At By Hand, From The Heart…

 

From 1st – 3rd February 2016, I would be show casing my fine art work of Project Divinity using charcoal as a medium as Artist Aarti Karwayun. Would also share a film shot for the project, The work http://bit.ly/1DpSBeP | The film http://bit.ly/1CJw2ap

For 5th & 6th February 2016, I would display my ispaceart by aarti karwayun work and series. Here is the link for the kind of work that will be displayed. http://ispaceart.com/ispaceart-at-serendipity-delhi-oct

 

Can you describe your work place / space?

Since my work involves fine art conceptual work, commercial home décor artworks through ispaceart and commissioned project work, my work space does remain pretty much dynamic.

work in progress.jpg

From a serious table and chair or easel stand and chair work, to a comfortable floor sitting or sometimes even laying down on the floor and painting for hours is how it all remains very random and new.

Once I painted 16 pop bells of 3’x3’ size that were to be hung from a restaurants ceiling for which 80% of the work was done standing and half of me inside the bell, since the depth was 3ft. So it is all very exciting, full of learning and new experiences each time J

work in progress (4)

 

What is a typical day at your studio like.

 

work in progress (6) (1).jpg

 

My home is my studio as of now and not an extended space, so its a shift from one room to the other.

My day starts with a big cup of tea, mails and facebook 🙂 something I would like to finish before I get own to actually hands on painting 🙂

work in progress (5).jpg

It could be me working on a current project that continues for a month or more, or it may even be simply creative thoughts or idea streamlining, filtering and working on the flow for new project/story. Any of it will include scribbling, writing, mock-up samples. Surely, some small in between breaks, handling few house hold chores and again going back to the creative space, realigning to the artwork or my thinking process which I also call “cooking” as each idea needs its time and space inside where it gets cooked(matured) before it put done in real or realized.

What/who inspires you? Or how do you find inspiration?

To me life is the biggest inspiration as such. Who we are, where we come from- our roots and what we become. I believe there are a lot of inherent inspirations from our childhood, people, places, ideologies and environment, all that influences and inspires us to an extent. We create what resonates with in us.

Otherwise there are artists that have been my favorite. Raja Ravi Verma, Amrita Sher Gil, Farida Khalo, Olaf Hajek a few to name… Some of my friends are also a source of daily inspirations Dithi Mukherjee, Vineeta Nair, Ritika Mittal, Divya Thomas and Shilo Shiv Suleman.

 

Can you describe your creative process and what is the most rewarding part of the creative process for you?

Like I said, We create what resonates.

I usually create from a place where my inspirations come through this journey of life.

A thought or idea that fascinates to a compelling extent and which if deserves a bigger expression, a story that connects deeply, and ought to be spread, finds its space through my artworks, that’s the wish for creation.

To be able to express, share & spread is the ultimate form of bliss to me as an artist. In fact I must say the entire journey, to see an idea through… from its conceptualizing stage to it being out there displayed and seen, is gratifying to the core.

IMG_8800

 

What’s the best thing about being an artist?

Art gives me freedom and makes me responsible. I love that art brings vastness, bigness and an infinite space for me as an artist. I also appreciate the honesty and courage that it demands out of me on the other side. Being an artist is never work and that’s my happiness quotient.

Chennai – your thoughts about this city.

Living in North of India most of my life, Chennai for me was mostly about the stars – politicians and ofcourse, Rajnikanth mostly. But having moved to Bangalore a few years back, and visiting Chennai on work a few times I’ve gotten to know and appreciate the city, its people and its culture more closely.
The vibrant temple art, the timeless and amazing architecture, its food – the steaming idlis, kola biryani and other Chettinad delights have given me a little more reason to love the city.

The recent Chennai flooding has now unequivocally amazed us all with its grit and resilience, dignified empathy to humanity, a perfect example for the world to follow.

Meet Aarti Karwayun at By Hand, From The Heart event, in Chennai
Artists & Makers Market
Exhibiting Dates:  1st – 3rd & 5th – 6th February, 2016
Timings 11:00 a.m to 7:00 p.m
Venue: Lalit Kala Akademi, Regional Centre, Ground Floor Gallery,
4, Greams Road, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600 006, India.
Join the Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/1064545906911602/
Leave a Reply

