By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

A curated makers market event in Chennai, India. Upcoming Event: 7th – 8th July, 2017 Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

Meet The Artist : Darshan Singh Grewal, Visual-Craft Artist

I like to call myself as an experimentalist. I play and create integrated craft, mix medium murals, space installations and photo-craft which reflect conceptual stories.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

darshan_new.jpg

Happiest memories of my childhood center on my experimental instinct to craft things. Explorative inclination brought me to Architecture School where I realized how we connect to spaces and spaces connect to us. After Graduating as an Architect in 2012, conventional jobs could not hold me for long and my calling beyond cubicles propelled me to travel along the breadths of country to experience life in diverse cultures and landscapes.

Nomadic solo journeys transformed me in so many ways. Spell bound by cogent metaphors subsist in diverse life culture I bethought to align the essence of my learning and explorations with work pursuance, thus began an integrated creative practice including Visual Art, Craft, Installation, Performing Arts and Film.

I deliberately conceive the process of exploring inventive mediums to craft my poetic ideas and endeavor to experiment on concepts where art offers an open end to viewer at different levels to reevaluate their own perspective through expressed and implied part of work.

Website : www.darshansinghgrewal.com

How would you describe what you do; and how long have you been making and creating?

darshan 02.JPG

My multidisciplinary practice is often evolutionary. Since 2013, I have been creating innovative crafts, visual art, mixed media installations, conceptual film and photo stories. Apart from it I travel abound to experience diverse cultures and time. You may find me humming a note or doodling in my idle time.

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From the Heart.

darshan 03.JPG

Recently I exhibited my first doodle series at Delhi comic con, Dec 2015. It was received by audience with great warmth and rekindled my spirit.

Now with Chennai in spirit, crafting a mural and my first photo-craft series “S a u d a d e” for my first ever art exhibition at By Hand from the Heart, Art Group Show. It is a poignant metaphoric trail which would reflect a poetic contemplation of the clown who is beckoning his latent essence in a contrary setting depicting an emotion each one of us feels at some phase of our lives.

Saudade. How did it come to be?

darshan 04.JPG

I have been making notes on this for a long time and it came about as a culmination of my learning and understanding of self as yet. Saudade is a brief photo-craft series where efforts are been made to capture the evolutionary struggle of self-knowing through a journey of Tribalistic Clown, using a village of Punjab as background reflecting an essence that “One finds himself better in a contrary surrounding”.

Can you describe your work place / space?

“To explore is more astounding than to settle” Ranging from urban ambience to rural settlement, Work shed of this backpacker artist alters along the incessant journeys. I work extended hours and enjoy flexible schedules while working on projects.

What is a typical day at your studio like?

Happily I am not a routine maker; I take the day as it comes. Sometimes it’s all about basking in natural silences and other times I work on projects at hand. 

What and where you find inspiration?

Immersed in melody, exploring varied trails, the unbound nature, tranquility of people and metaphoric cultures subsist in life is my perpetual inspiration and rejuvenating elixir.

What’s the best thing about being an artist?

For me art is an adventurous exploration of life and a medium to align the essence of our learning with work pursuance. The best thing being an artist is the experience of being.

Anything exciting on the cards for the coming months?

Yes, apart from Saudade at By Hand from Heart in Chennai, there is a prospective space installation using traditional craft techniques in Punjab and an experimental film project I am working on.

Darshan Singh will exhibit his works at the ART GROUP SHOW for the dates  1st, 2nd & 3rd February, 2016 at By Hand, From The Heart event in Chennai 
Artist & Makers Market
Timings 11:00 a.m to 7:00 p.m
At, Lalit Kala Akademi, Regional Centre, Ground Floor Gallery, 4, Greams Road, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600 006, India.
Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/1064545906911602/
The event will also feature a Makers Market
on 5th – 6th February 2016 . Same venue & timings.
Leave a Reply

