By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a biannual Makers Market held in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India.

Meet The Artist: Reshmi Gopinath, Varnaalaya

I am Reshmi Gopinath, an artist based in Chennai. I mostly work with acrylics and oils. I ventured into painting through the guidance of Mrs.Takako Shinoda, a professional artist from Bellevue  WA USA in 2006. Since then I’ve been painting regularly and have been a part of juried and non-juried shows in Maryland  USA ,Chennai and Bangalore. Now  ART is an inevitable part of me.

20160106_080605.png

Tell us about your works and your proposed showcase at By Hand From The Heart.

My works are all about Nature. I find great happiness in painting  flora and fauna. I will be showcasing for the show  some of my landscapes that generate the feeling of nostalgia.

20151130_094858.png


Can you  describe your work space.

A well lit corner of my room  is the most most comfortable studio space I have.

20150914_103529.jpg

What /who inspires  you?

Definitely  nature… I find inspiration from every thing around me.

20151130_094034.png

How do you get around creative blocks?

Yes I do get these blocks… to overcome this; I join a group of artist friends and do some live sketching  and positive support from family and friends goes a long way.

20151130_094703.png

Best thing about being an artist.

I believe that being an artist  is a real privilege. Having an artist eye helps you find vibrance in everything around you.

What would you say to someone thinking about selling their works.

Please go ahead, its a great motivation and that means someone really appreciates the creativity in you.

Anything exciting on the cards for coming months

I have couple of events lined up for the first few  months this year.

Reshmi Gopinath will exhibit her acrylic art works at the ART GROUP SHOW ; dates  1st, 2nd & 3rd February, 2016 at By Hand, From The Heart event in Chennai 
Artist & Makers Market
Timings 11:00 a.m to 7:00 p.m
At, Lalit Kala Akademi, Regional Centre, Ground Floor Gallery, 4, Greams Road, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600 006, India.
Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/1064545906911602/
The event will also feature a Makers Market
on 5th – 6th February 2016 . Same venue & timings.
Leave a Reply

