By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a curated Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 in Coimbatore | 23rd Edition: 16th – 17th – February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Artist: Tania Thomas

Tell us a bit about yourself

IMG_20160107_002013.jpg

I am a Chennai based artist. Art has been an integral part of my life, be it on canvas or on fabric. I am a post graduate in fine arts, having worked as an independent artist and textile designer. My early exposure to art started during my formative years in Kerala. Nature is a perfect art piece by itself with its forms, colours and textures and it has been a never ending inspiration.  My style is abstract mostly expressed using acrylic and mixed media. My love for travelling has opened new vistas and hence given me insights, which I later developed as ideas in my work. I have participated in various group shows in the city,  the last one being a solo show  titled ‘Evolved’

Can you describe your work place.

An open balcony in my house is what I call my space, As I love working in natural light and it gives me a lot of freedom, openness with no limits!

What/who inspires you? 

I look for ways to reflect the simple beauty around us, which is most often forgotten, hence the texture of sand, vast open space, cityscapes, weaves on a fabric and even at times a moment of deeply felt emotion inspires.

Taniathomas-artwork-07.jpg

Can you describe your creative process….

My paintings are not preconceived, its a play between the paint and canvas, it tells its own story.Its an interaction between the material and my hand, and the direction it takes is channeled  through me. Which when finished the feeling is like that of sheer joy and contentment. The paintbrush is not the only essential primary tool used in my art, rather everyday objects like wood scraper, metal objects, sponges spatula etc play a dominant role.Having worked with textiles of varied types, colors, weaves and textures has given me a lot of ideas which I try to incorporate in my artwork and it has given me an immense sense of fulfillment.

For any artist when his/ her work is appreciated is the most rewarding process I think, same goes with me.

How do you get around creative blocks?

All artist go through creative blocks at some time or the other, What has helped the most is

– doodling
– yoga& meditation
-A stroll in the park
-lot of support from  family/ friends.

Taniathomas-artwork-05.jpg

Whats the best thing about being an artist

You are your own master, to me the idea of painting is a necessity,  a need to satisfy  my inner self, and  the best thing about being an artist is that it gives you a lot of freedom. Life for me is about freedom and passion; a path to be free to be myself, to express to the rest of the world what see and dream.

IMG_20150817_135138.jpg

Tania Thomas will showcase her abstract art works at the ART GROUP SHOW on 1st, 2nd & 3rd February, 2016 at By Hand, From The Heart event in Chennai 
Artist & Makers Market
Timings 11:00 a.m to 7:00 p.m
At, Lalit Kala Akademi, Regional Centre, Ground Floor Gallery, 4, Greams Road, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600 006, India.
Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/1064545906911602/
The event will also feature a Makers Market
on 5th – 6th February 2016 . Same venue & timings.
3 comments on “Meet The Artist: Tania Thomas

  1. Shilpa M.G
    January 19, 2016

    Tania is gifted. She is absolutely sooooopa. Love her creativity.

  2. Amritha
    January 20, 2016

    Tania u r really creative. Wish u all the best.

  3. Sunith
    February 1, 2016

    You are such a creative person . All the best Tania for this show 👍

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
