By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a curated Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 in Coimbatore | 23rd Edition: 16th – 17th – February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Maker: Priyanjoli Basu, PRIYANJOLI

Priyanjoli B & W .jpg

During the various lives I led in Mumbai as a student, stylist and costume designer, my fascination with textile was apparent in my work. However since I was a young girl, I loved designing so I quit my job as a stylist in Bombay and went to London to study fashion and textiles. My time at the London College of Fashion only strengthened my interest in working with the textile and craft traditions of India. I began delving into the history of textiles and studied the weaves I had inherited from a new perspective.

I launched my brand PRIYANJOLI in 2012 and I began traveling across India to small villages and working with the master-craftsmen, listening to the beat of their looms, and understanding their processes and perceptions.

I have always loved textures and patterns, but only after traveling to places with rich textile histories and vibrant markets featuring hand-crafted fabrics that I decided to make my passion a career. While working as a stylist for movies and advertising , my mind would drift back to the hand-crafted textiles I had encountered and how drawn I was to the imperfections inherent in these techniques.

My work, my designs pair my love of classic, textural design with the organic nature and rich story of a handcrafted textile. We want our products to be accessible to people of all ages, incomes and styles, and for our designs to stand beautifully and simply on their own or coordinate perfectly with other look.

 

12299288_959605920764234_3966735575467772500_n.jpg

 

The fabrics I work with are custom designed using vintage motifs in a contemporary colour palette keeping in mind the processes of various handloom techniques. Our personal favorites would be cottons in different texture and Ikat. We love designing Sari’s and Scarves too.

My present work seeks to bridge the gap between our rich textile heritage and the constant evolution of modern fashion. In our garment line we strive for understated elegance that is inspired by the fluidity of the fabric. Our collection is Fashionable , Sustainable, Comfortable and Ethical. We launched our online store priyanjoli.com after we got a good response from our exhibitions all over India.

PJ-Inhouse show 2-Arun-0826-2015

We converted a cosy apartment into our bohemian work space and studio. We call it The Madras Atelier. It has been humbling and wonderful to have met so many eclectic people and build relationships in our adopted home of Chennai.

Designer Priyanjoli Basu will showcase her clothing brand PRIYANJOLI at the By Hand, From The Heart Makers Market event in Chennai
Exhibiting Dates 5th & 6th February, 2016
Timings 11:00 a.m to 7:00 p.m
At, Lalit Kala Akademi, Regional Centre, Ground Floor Gallery, 4, Greams Road, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600 006, India.
Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/1064545906911602/
Artists & Makers Market will also feature a Art Group Show
on 1st – 3rd February 2016 . Same venue & timings.
Leave a Reply

