By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a biannual Makers Market held in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India.

Meet The Maker: Deepa Jadhav, Sew4Soul, Pune

FB_IMG_1466486866981.jpg

Meet Deepa Jhadav, the founder of Sew 4 Soul. From handcrafted bags and clutches to travel wallets, Deepa makes it all at her home studio in Pune. As Deepa mentions, “Sew4soul is an attempt to bring soul into a small piece of fabric”. Without further ado, we introduce to you, the Chief of Everything at Sew4Soul, Deepa Jadhav.

A bit about yourself.
I’m Deepa Jadhav, 36 year old. I started making bags 5 years back after quiting my corporate job to look after my 3 year  old daughter.I design and sew my bags in my home studio.

Why is making important to you? And what is inspiring you now?
Sewing has always been a part of me. I completed my fashion designing course back in 2002. However because of a corporate job I was away from my sewing for almost a decade. However after quiting my job when I finally had time for myself, I decided to start sewing. But this time instead of dress making my heart was set on bag making. My inspiration had always been by daughter Ruhi which in English means “soul”, hence my brand name Sew4Soul.

IMG_20160222_092921.JPG

What was the first thing you remember making?
My first sewing was a zipper pouch

Where do you get your inspiration? 
I mostly draw my inspiration from functionality and practicality of a product.

What’s a typical day at Sew4Soul?
A typical day at Sew4Soul is balancing sewing and house work

What’s your most challenging work  so far. 
The most challenging work till how has been the Color Riot Totes, which takes 2-3 days for each tote.

IMG_20160629_095712.JPG

Tell us about your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart.
This will be my first show in Chennai and I am super excited about it. I’m in the process of drafting some sew products for the show.

What’s the best thing about being a design entrepreneur?
The best thing about is have the creative independence and freedom to take risk

What advice would you share to those who want to take on their hobby/ passion into a career?
Any new work always takes time for recognition. Keep crafting and always they to make something different from what all your contemporary artists do.

About Chennai.
50% online clientele is chennai based. And the affection I always get from them has been the deciding factor to do this show.

IMG_20160706_110624.JPG

Meet designer and craft entrepreneur, Deepa Jadhav of Sew4Soul, Pune at the By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 18th Edition

Friday – Saturday, 5th – 6th August, 2016
10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 18th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook 

Instagram | Twitter | Blog

Leave a Reply

