By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 , Jenney Residency, Coimbatore. 23rd Edition: February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Maker: Chinanshu Sharma, Paarisha, Bangalore

Chinanshu Sharma creates jewllery using yarn weaving techniques. She is a brilliant designer who has consistently experimented with blending the traditional and the unconventional. She admits she can’t go for long without innovating something new. We talk to the designer about her mixed media jewellery, her breathtaking new collection and her learnings in creative business. 

13243781_10205550313629730_5111880569925570645_o.jpg

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a jewellery designer.  An MBA and a good banking career I quit my job for my interest in accessory design; I started my jewellery brand ‘Paarisha’ 4 years ago, after I moved to Bangalore. Interest, aside I attended a few courses in design and fabrication; a course in metal-smith was one such course that made me better skilled as an jewellery artist. I enjoy experimenting with mixed media and hate to be stereotyped. Jewellery design is all about experimenting and exploring the possibilities of merging technique and mediums.

Why is making important to you?

Making is essential to express myself through colours and to work with my hand is a meditative journey. It is being in the moment when you are just the maker and focussed with all your senses – listening, seeing, feeling the material. If I am unable to work for long, I feel stressed. So I create to be Happy.

BHFH03

Tell us about your recent works and what are you bringing to By Hand, From The Heart.

I am bringing a few things I have worked on during the last couple of months. One of them is a play of Himachal weaves with oxidized chains giving it very grunge yet classy look. It is a bold collection for a woman of modern sensibilities and traditional values.

BHFH02.jpg

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned since starting your business?

I have discovered many things, and every day is a new lesson. What I can say is important learning is – Innovation is the key to staying in your customer’s mind. If you are not able to offer something new to your client, they have many other options available. Loyalty is a long slow process and takes years to build but can go away if you are not cautious.

chijwj000134165-2_4.jpg

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve gotten along the way in building your business?

I think the best advice is to listen to your customers, the moments of truth. We are often walking a thin line between self-expression and a commercial product so paying keen attention to your clients and interacting with them goes a long way.

What advice would you share to those who want to take on their hobby/ passion into a career?

Making is the easiest part (well in your hand), the tricky part is selling so if you plan to make your passion your business, make sure you have the necessary knowledge if not then partner with someone who can do it for you.

What’s your big dream for Paarisha?

I want Paarisha to be an international brand and to be known for innovation and originality. I am adding new lines to the brand – which I will be showcasing for the first time in By Hand from Heart show. The idea it to keep adding more lines and offer new stuff to customers.

Meet design entrepreneur and mixed media jewellery designer Chinanshu Sharma of Paarisha, Bangalore at the By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 18th Edition

Friday – Saturday, 5th – 6th August, 2016
10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 18th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook 

Instagram | Twitter | Blog

Leave a Reply

