By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a curated Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 in Coimbatore | 23rd Edition: 16th – 17th – February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Maker: Tanuja Sethi, Shop with Tanuja, Bhubaneswar

Tanuja Sethi is an independent artist based in Bhubaneshwar, Odisha. She paints and sews on her own – The art work on her totes, towels, bags and pouches  are largely inspired by nature; birds are her favourite subject. ‘Shop with Tanuja’ is her slow design creative business; we find out her plans & dreams for this creative venture. 

Tanuja Sethi.jpg

A bit about yourself and what you do.
Hi I’m Tanuja, from a beautiful city called Bhubaneswar. My interests include crafting, photography and traveling. I have a small venture where I sell my hand-painted products such as cotton bags, sarees, tea towels etc. I started a year back when I thought of selling hand-painted totes at a city book fair. I got absolute positive responses and since then there’s been no looking back.

Zipepr pouch.jpg

Why is making important to you?
I have always been into art and craft. I would often make gifts for my folk’s birthdays instead of buying and do DIY projects for myself. Making is important to me because it’s very personal and made with lots of love and effort.

Work in Progress.jpg

How long does it take to make a product? What’s involved?
It basically depends upon the product. Some may take a day while some may take 3-7 days. It involves procuring material, conceptualization, stitching, framing and phase wise painting.

Where do you look for inspiration? And what is inspiring you now?
I have mostly been inspired by nature and my surroundings. Birds are my special interests.

Workspace.jpg

Describe your work space and what’s it like?
My workspace is very simple but adorned with my ideas and craft inspirations. It’s a peaceful corner where I work late nights.

Birds on bag_Totes_Tanuja.jpg

Tell us about your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart.
I’ll be showcasing my hand-painted cotton products which come in few variations. They are Eco-friendly and low-maintenance and totally cool.

Tea towel-flowers Tanuja.jpg

What is a typical day at “Shop with Tanuja” like. 

My typical day at work involves working on orders, painting, sewing, updating on social networking sites as well as experimenting and learning new stuffs. I usually work late nights.

Shop with Tanuja-02.jpg

What’s the best thing about being a design craft entrepreneur?
Best thing about it is doing what you really love to do. There are times of stress or over working but there is a satisfaction of owing everything. It’s nice being my own boss.

What advice would you share to those who want to take on their hobby/ passion into a career?
Give your passion a start. The advice I would like to give is ‘give it a try’ and see how it goes. Failures, experiments, risks, public responses will teach for what it takes to make it into a full time career.

About Chennai
My early schooling has been in Chennai and even later I have visited few times. I have friends here. It’s quite nice and definitely a happening city! I like the food here too.

Artist & design entreprenuer, Tanuja Sethi of Shop with Tanuja, Bhubaneshwar will be at By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 18th Edition

Friday – Saturday, 5th – 6th August, 2016
10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 18th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook

Instagram | Twitter | Blog

One comment on “Meet The Maker: Tanuja Sethi, Shop with Tanuja, Bhubaneswar

  1. Sanjib Sarangi
    July 10, 2016

    So liveli Tanuja….stay blessed

Leave a Reply

