By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a biannual Makers Market held in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India.

Meet The Maker: Aruna Deepak, Anika Terracotta Jewelry, Hyderabad

Aruna Deepak began to design jewellery for herself and gradually began to design for friends & family. All the positive feedback encouraged her to set up Anika Terracotta Jewelry; her very own jewelry design studio in Hyderabad. We talk to her about her home based creative venture, plans and dreams for her terracotta jewellery brand.

10690013_740599855993667_8508177805071120040_n.jpg

A bit about Anika
Anika terracotta jewelry is a slow design studio based in Hyderabad. Our purpose is to create affordable and premium quality.jewelry that is light weight and design-wise timeless. Each piece of  jewellery is meticulously crafted with the right blend of both the traditional and modern in balance.

1915220_479358362271417_7005759401708627797_n

How would you describe what you do; and how long have you been making and creating?
I understand the personal bond that women have towards ornaments. I trust my instincts to craft aesthetically the best terracotta designs that can accentuate one’s inner self. Initially I starting with simple sets for myself, friends and family and I gradually moved my passion into a business when the demand increased. “Anika” as a business was started in 2012.

Why is making important to you?
Terracotta jewelry always fascinated me. When I started looking at the options available, I was drawn towards it; so much that I was inspired to craft my own terracotta jewelry designs. Initially I tried out designs with modelling clay and gradually progressed to making my terracotta jewelry with the finest river bed clay.

What was the first thing you remember making?
Simple jewelry for myself.

What’s your most challenging work so far.
Most challenging work so far was making a unique Oddiyanam (an ornamental hip belt) for a dancer.

12484799_476434489230471_240704983940254065_o.jpg

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart

My recent works include silver finish terracotta jewellery, party wear terracotta jewellery and also temple jewellery inspired collection. My design style is minimal, clean and elegant. Minimalistic in details; geometric forms; contrasting elements, like color texture and finishing; asymmetry because I love something a little unexpected. And above all, elegance is the primary design principle. My work is usually substantial in look and feel. That is not to say heavy or chunky. I will showcase at the exhibition a collection of daily wear bracelets, necklace sets, premium collections and much more.

12489257_479358372271416_3413503810089468460_o.jpg


What/who inspires you?

Designs need to have a definite language. I believe in reinventing the past along with creating something new. I make jewellery to suit not just Indian garments but also Western outfits. Most of my inspiration comes from nature where we see mostly bright colors that are lively and have a beautiful lustre that sparkle and leave a twinkle in the eye.

Can you describe your creative process and what is the most rewarding part of the creative process for you?
I’m happy by the number of people who are becoming increasingly fascinated by my designs  Anika’s contemporary,traditional and trendy designs are attracting customers from all walks of life, all ages and from across the globe.

How do you get around creative blocks?
Sometimes the best way to get out of a creative blocks is to do something totally different. I try a different artistic endeavor. I paint. Or I’ll make a purely fun piece of jewelry for myself; the focus would be to play around and not ‘work’; this helps.

13433328_537899813083938_701093368838044291_o.jpg

Describe your work place / space?
There is a buzz in the air; our work space is often playfully unorthodox, and people are energetic and engaged. When you walk into my workplace – you can sense it . The creative atmosphere gives us the freedom to run in multiple directions, often at once.

What’s the best thing about being a designer?
When people react to my works I feel I’m stepping towards my goal of becoming a successful designer.

What advice would you share to those who want to take on their hobby/ passion into a career?
If you want to start your own company, first; have a plan. Half of your job is creative problem solving. The other half is managing your business, production, marketing, development. So not only do you need to be creative in your designs for them to stand out, you need to incorporate business aspects, or delegate them. Be persistent, be open, create relationships and dream big.

You have participated in an earlier edition of By Hand From The Heart what was the BHFTH experience and what have you observed.

Yes Anika had participated in February 2014 edition of BHFTH. The exhibition brought in discerning customers. We had a great experience. Most customers loved our designs and bought for themselves and as gifts. It was an overwhelming experience to have been part of the BHFTH show and I will always cherish it.

What advice would you give other to artists & makers to explore Chennai?
Don’t miss a chance to exhibit your products in Chennai. Chennaites appreciate and support art and artisans always.

Aruna Deepak of Anika Terracotta Jewelry, Hyderabad will be at the By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 18th Edition

Friday – Saturday, 5th – 6th August, 2016
10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 18th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook  | Instagram | Twitter | Blog

Leave a Reply

