By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a biannual Makers Market held in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India.

Meet The Maker: Rupashree Adam, Charming Miniatures, Chennai

Rupashree Adam is a food miniaturist based in Chennai. Charming Miniatures her creative venture happened because she is foodaholic with an innate passion for arts and crafts.  We chat up with the artist, to kind out more about her works & culinary dreams.

201606282243509515_Chennai-girl-creates-enticing-food-miniatures_SECVPF.gif

Bit about you and your craft. 

I have just completed my graduation in Visual Fine Arts.  My passion and interests in miniatures began during a visit abroad 4 years ago when I happened to see a unique boutique outlet displaying various objects in virtually a micro mini size.

This fascinated me and somehow I felt I must do something creative and beautiful. What better than making big things micro mini. This was the start of my journey through “the small things world”.

1.jpg

What’s the story behind this venture; do you have food background?

In my family I am fondly called a foodaholic. That’s why I chose food as my mini creation.
I researched for a while on different materials and their qualities and decided that polymer clay though costly gave the best results post shading and baking.

Success did not come immediately and I worked  extremely hard and eventually was able to create dishes that were so real under a magnifying glass that I knew I had the skills to go further.

I set up my own site called “Charming Miniatures” two years ago and put up some of my items but could not do this full time as I was preoccupied with my 4 year strenuous college curriculum. Now that it’s over I am spending a lot of time turning out new dishes including Japanese tempura and sushi which I love .

It takes a lot of concentration and deft moves to get the real look of each dish. Also the shading and baking can be a great test of completing a final product. I am happy I could pass through these stages and have the confidence to make more complex dishes.


Designing a miniature. Could you run us through the process?

– Moisten the clay.
– Sculpt (Depends on what your working on, for example, a dosai, you will need to roll it out into a circular shape.)
– Texturing can be done with a tooth brush, silver foil, tooth pick.
– Shading can be done using chalk pastels to give it a realistic effect.
– Since I use polymer clay, it needs to be packed according to the temperature mentioned on the clay package., in a bake/toaster oven.

2.jpg

Your future plans.

Cooking and baking interest me a lot and I will be joining the culinary programme at Cordon Bleu Wellington from October this year to train in patisserie and cuisine. I shall be continuing my miniature work there and endeavour to convert into micro form as many of the complex cuisines that I am scheduled to learn at Cordon Bleu.

Ultimately I plan to put up my works for sale, make videos, and conduct workshops for those youngsters who have similar interests.The first part will happen soon while the workshops will have to wait till I complete my culinary course.

This is a kind of Art that has its own following and am sure will pleasantly surprise to see my display showcased at the By Hand From The Heart Makers Market.

Rupashree Adam’s works will be showcased at the By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 18th Edition

Friday – Saturday, 5th – 6th August, 2016
10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 18th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook  | Instagram | Twitter | Blog

3 comments on “Meet The Maker: Rupashree Adam, Charming Miniatures, Chennai

  1. M. Shankar
    July 30, 2016

    Not just work of art food miniatures that stun you with their exotic looks, they look tempting enough to have a bite forthwith.!So realistic! Wish the creator Ms. Rupa Adam good luck with many more creations. I am sure she will try out many more things in the world of miniatures.

  2. Geetha Raghupathy
    July 30, 2016

    Rupa, i am happy to read about the displayof miniatures at Crowne Plaza. U are about to pursue a career close to your heart. U willcertainly excel in whatever u do bcos u r happy with ur work. God bless this charming girl and her equally charming miniatures.

  3. Dhanamsudar
    July 31, 2016

    Roopa
    Great job.keep going .you can do a lot more wonders.All the best.

Leave a Reply

