By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a curated Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 in Coimbatore | 23rd Edition: 16th – 17th – February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Maker: Suguna Rangaswami, Doll Maker, Chennai

Suguna Rangaswami is a doll maker based in Chennai. She enjoys handcrafting finger puppets, soft dolls and quilts. She shares with us in brief about her hobby turned home business.  By Hand From The Heart has had the priviledge of showcasing her limited editions of dolls and puppets at our makers market editions. 

10333501_10152204041272333_6120752261851316365_o

How would you describe what you do; and how long have you been making & creating?

I make soft toys. I started to make dolls and puppets for children when I came to Chennai in 1980 from Kolkota. My brother was the one who encouraged me to make these toys. With his encouragement and my keen interest in the craft; I joined my friend Sarada and hosted a 4 day exhibition in 1981 at CP Arts Centre, Mylapore in Chennai (Madras).From then on, I have been making dolls and puppets.

13668781_915249245268424_5956666686462035019_o.jpg

Why is making important to you? 

It keeps me busy and happy. I enjoy watching children play with these toys. The smiles in their faces gives me all the happiness.

 

What’s your most challenging work so far. 

My most challenging work was a recent project; Obama and Michelle dolls .

What’s the best piece of advice you’d like to give to anyone setting up a creative venture? 

Lots of patience, a passion to excel and never to compromise in the quality of your materials and the finishing of your products.

About Chennai

Chennai (Madras) is home. People here are very encouraging when it comes to arts in all forms – writing, acting, painting, etc.

About your experience at By Hand From The Heart.

I have showcased my works with By Hand From The Heart many a times over the last 3 years. It has been a enjoyable, encouraging platform to work  with.

12719398_964798973609101_1773513923894540680_o.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

