By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a biannual Makers Market held in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India.

Meet The Maker: Sarika Rajeev Kapoor, Aarika, Chennai

We chat up with Sarika Rajeev Kapoor, owner and design head at Aarika – a home studio for temple jewellery inspired accessories. Let’s find out more about her popular lines and her latest introduction –  temple jewellery inspired footwear. 

sarika_aarika

A bit about yourself.

Aarika is a handcrafted jewelry brand born out of my love for jewelry making, in the year 2009. I specialize in ornate handwoven jute neckpieces interlaced with temple pathakams.

How would you describe what you do; and how long have you been making and creating?

Jewelry making for me is not just a profession, It is an extension of who I am. My passion for designing and creating started as a child, The personalization and artistic vision that goes into creating a one of a kind piece for a client gives me a great high. I love the process of connecting to my heart, designing and knotting each metal or gemstone and infusing them with positive intentions and affirmations. I play with materials, processes and techniques until I comes up with what I think is an exquisite piece, an embellishing form of wearable art.

Why is making important to you? 

Designing, creating, making.for me is therapeutic. Making is most important for me. It keeps me going. Besides jewellery; I love to create just about anything; it could be a box to store my sons toys or a small garden décor. The process of first visualizing a product and then working hard to create it..and then the joy of seeing the finished piece of art – is truly ZEN.

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart.

My recent work is more of the jute neck pieces. Have ventured into footwear as well..Will be showcasing my new range of footwear embellished with temple motifs, bags/purses in block prints,belts and decor.

1013-rs-1295

Describe your work premises & what is a typical working day, like.

I have a small studio set up at home..My typical working day is filled with the joy of creation and sometimes the pressure of meeting deadlines.

What is your personal favorite pick at Aarika right now? And why?

Footwear is definitely occupying most of my attention right now. Its Aarika’s new baby. Not that I have looked over jewellery, but yes right now I am celebrating my now personal favourite – ethnic styled footwear.

12191052_1048280981902193_6937391189782977910_n.jpg

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve gotten along the way in building your business?

That there are no rules.Just keep following your heart  and your mind,trust your instincts and the most valuable assets ,the ones that need to be preserved, are the ones who come in the morning and leave after a hard days work in the evening.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned since starting your business?

That we need to dream big.“Reach for the sky..If you miss, you will atleast be among the stars.”

About Chennai 

Its home.It is a beautiful fusion of culture, tradition and the modern outlook.

At the Makers Market exhibition in Chennai this October, meet the maker!.

By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – Festival Special – 19th Edition
Date: Friday – Saturday, 7th – 8th October, 2016
Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 19th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Blog

Leave a Reply

