By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 , Jenney Residency, Coimbatore. 23rd Edition: February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Maker: Aruna Venkateswaran, AURA, Chennai

unnamed (1).jpg

A bit about yourself and what you do.

I am an engineer by graduation but later took on to writing as I discovered my passion in writing. I have been writing creative content for websites for quite a few years as an Independent writer. Apart from writing, functional art has always inspired me. What spurred me to embark on this journey of mine is the fact that human potential is often underrated in our country. Quite a few women whom I personally know are employed in strenuous and monotonous jobs that are taking a toll on their health. To provide such women, a fulfilling job where their creative skills come to the fore and to compensate them commensurately, have been the driving factors behind AURA. While each tiara is aimed at affirming the intrinsic divinity of every princess who wears it, the making of each tiara is actually aimed to empower gifted women who have not actualized their intrinsic abilities by providing them a dignified living. Though there are several women empowerment initiatives already up and running successfully, I think for a country like ours we still need more to bring about change.

13411638_615099158654230_2109882153977065302_o.jpg

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart

Speaking of my recent works, I have been experimenting with neon shades and they have been received well. The proposed showcase will include a range of tiaras and accessories where I have used crystal beads as the medium and each of them has been crafted keeping the durability as well as their looks in perspective. Crystal bead handmade tiaras have not been attempted so far and hence I look forward to this event which is going to help showcase them, for the first time in this creative journey of mine.

Describe your work space and what’s it like?

I keep changing my work space. The work is what inspires me more than the place and my working hours are something I eagerly look forward to each morning when i wake up. Sometimes the designs that pop up in my mind inspire me and at other times the medium and other materials inspire me, with ideas on the day’s work. The best thing about taking up a creative pursuit is that it is enriching for the mind. But sometimes work is so engrossing that I forget about my body posture. Hence Yoga takes care of my physical health and my work along with a daily dose of meditation keeps my mind in good shape.

13938005_638374992993313_2701984544053972445_o.jpg

What’s your favourite pick at AURA?

Each tiara is special to me. I am glad the tiaras have chosen me and found expression through me. I choose to enjoy the process of making just one tiara at a time, sitting with a blank mind, going with the flow to watch beauty unfold through these tiny crystals and the wires that are willing to bend, twist and turn. They sit in silence with infinite surprises packed within them and unveiling each one is a delight in itself.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve gotten along the way in building your business? 

“Nobody knows enough to be a pessimist”- Wayne Dyer. Like him, I too believe we live in a world with infinite possibilities and try not to be influenced by the opinions of critics and skeptics. The children in my neighborhood have been very supportive and their clear and unbiased feedback on each tiara is what I trust and value the most. Their smiles have also helped keep this endeavor going amidst all the setbacks that I have encountered.

At the Makers Market exhibition in Chennai this October, meet the maker!

By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – Festival Special – 19th Edition
Date: Friday – Saturday, 7th – 8th October, 2016
Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 19th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook|Instagram|Twitter |Blog

One comment on “Meet The Maker: Aruna Venkateswaran, AURA, Chennai

  1. Karthik
    March 26, 2017

    Nice

Leave a Reply

