By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

A curated makers market event in Chennai, India. Upcoming Event: 7th – 8th July, 2017 Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

Meet The Maker: Archana Avinash, Strings & Beads, Dubai

An MBA grad with a background in Corporate Communications & Marketing, Archana Avinash chose her passion over her high paying daily job in 2011. Having been raised in the Middle East & being there for quite a period of her life, Archana is very inspired by everything that is Middle Eastern. Crystal Healing happened by accident and since then life has changed for Archana. A tarot card reader & an angel therapist, Archana has always had a huge interest in metaphysics, sacred geometry, and mythology. Strings & Beads clearly illustrates Archana’s passion for crystals, silver, and all things mystical. She is also a certified crystal healer who travels far & wide to get her gemstones & supports other small artisans who are into fair trade business practices. Archana lives with her inspiring husband, 7 year son and her new-born in Dubai, UAE. 

11264996_10153040487304422_5753472084016403170_n.jpg

How do crystals work?

To keep it simple, we human beings are made up of energy and crystals are made up of earth energy when these two come together “vibrational” healing occurs.  The use of gemstones for healing, meditation and manifesting have been used for thousands of years from every ancient civilization. On a more scientific level the human body contains silicon dioxide and a quartz crystal also contains silicon dioxide so when the two merge together healing occurs. Healing occurs in a variety of ways from energy blockages removed in the body,  clarity, emotional release to increased energy or manifestation of intentions, it varies based on each individual person.

14064202_1201526359898095_6933786866230420912_n.jpg

What are the different ways of using gemstones/crystals?

Like I said, Gemstones have been used for healing for thousands of years. The Egyptians used to grind up gemstones such as Lapis Lazuli very fine and wear it as eye-shadow. The Native Americans have used turquoise on belts to help digestion in the stomach. Greek Warriors used to wear garnets for protection in battle. Quartz crystal spheres have been used to foretell the future.  Today gemstones are often worn on the body in the form of jewelry to manifest things into your life. Stones can be placed in a bath to energize the energy of the bath water based upon the gemstones spiritual intention. Gems are often placed around the home to clear the energy or attract certain energies into the home. Many aromatherapy blends have gemstones added to them to enhance the energy of the oils. Gems are also added to water to use as a spray or to drink so that the vibrational energy of the stone can infuse your internal body. Gemstones are also used to construct “energy grids” that help manifest desired intention.

14068347_1191601677557230_6265793826879034570_o.jpg


Share with us your journey of Strings & Beads becoming a holistic brand.

When I started Strings & Beads in January 2011, I had no idea that it would become anything like what it is today. I was more into fashion jewelry at that time, but I think everything has a time & reason Healing Crystals happened to rescue me and my life that very same year-thanks to a friend who is a Healer. Ever since, there has been no looking back. What started of as a small line of Healing bracelets, has now grown into a business that only runs on the same principles of healing & wellness. I did get a few certifications done that have supported me largely in understanding energies and crystals better. One of the main reasons of why I do this is because I love it & the power of healing crystals have never let me down. An energy shift is always noticed and reported by those wearing the bracelets.  For many, a string of good luck, a surprise development, events and occurrences had no explanation for their timing—except for the bracelet. and I love to hear these lovely developments which constantly drives me to create and spread joy. I am so glad that the crystals have chosen me as an instrument in this lifetime.

14102425_1205873556130042_1060482618094800700_n.jpg

Do you have a favourite crystal? 
From time to time, I work with different crystals. Currently I am wearing & loving the Malachite with Lapiz and Moonstone bracelet to help me with birthing my second child.

How did holistic living + wellness manifest itself in your life?

I have been drawn to energy healing since I was a child. Esoteric science has always amazed and amused me. Being raised by my grandparents in a very orthodox hindu household and having gone to another orthodox christian school, I grew up in a diverse environment. Always taking in the best from everywhere. And when I was around 11 years, my mother became a pranic healer- it was the first time for me to see healing happen so closely. And I was introduced to Yoga & Meditation while in college. When I turned 23, and was having issues to deal with – Alternative healing came to rescue. Thanks to a dear childhood friend and a healer who initiated me formally into Healing & holistic living.  Over the years my routine has evolved but has always included mediating, writing down what I’m grateful for and living mind fully.

What daily rituals are non-negotiable and are a must every day.

I have got to meditate every single day. That’s a non-negotiable. I don’t necessarily have to be sitting— although that’s the best—but it can be walking or chanting. I have to do something that connects me to my spiritual life every day. Weekly, I like to spread my tarot/angel cards and ask for guidance. I also start my day by writing down what my intention for the day is and also a few things I am grateful for that day.

healing jewelry.jpg

Proposed Showcase at the By Hand?
At the By Hand, Strings and Beads will showcase “Conscious healing jewelry” under two main categories where you can shop by intention and shop by gemstone. I have out together some wonderful combinations that can help you manifest any intention in your life. The Shop by gemstone range will have a limited collection of top quality gemstones that are rare and that are not mined in India. The Zodiac range will also be available.

14310574_1216256945091703_9195278430851141560_o.jpg


Personal Favourite from the collection 

My Personal favourite from this collection, has to be the “Gratitude bracelet”. The gemstones help align the thoughts to be grateful for everything you have and it looks so beautiful! It is a great gift to give away or give yourself if you believe in the Law of Attraction and are a mindful living junkie 🙂

12734270_1067153510002048_4225528951581127945_n.jpg

At the Makers Market exhibition in Chennai this October, meet the maker!

By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – Festival Special – 19th Edition
Date: Friday – Saturday, 7th – 8th October, 2016
Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 19th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook|Instagram|Twitter |Blog

Leave a Reply

