By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a curated Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 in Coimbatore | 23rd Edition: 16th – 17th – February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Maker: Pooja Sitharthan, Doodle Artist, SwitchOn, Chennai

We chat up with artist Pooja of SwitchOn; chirpy and fullon vibrant just like her doodles, Pooja loves to draw and make things in her home studio she lovingly addresses as her Happiness Factory.  Let’s find out more about her works, inspirations and her recent works she plans to showcase in Chennai with By Hand From The Heart makers market event.

Profile Pic.jpg

Can you introduce yourself and describe what you do.

Hi! My name is Pooja. I am an Artist based in Chennai. I love to draw and make things. I truly believe that Art, in any form is something that makes people feel a certain way and I try to make things that I think might make people happy. My brand has a collection of brightly colorful Accessories and Collectibles from ‘The Happiness Factory’ .

WIP.jpg

Why is making most important to you?

The best part about making is to see that something that you worked on can make others happy. And it’s really satisfying to see whatever you have visualized, take up a physical form. Nothing can ever go wrong with it. The final product will always be something that you wanted to see.

SwitchOn-03.JPG

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart.

I have recently started working on Accessories like Bracelet Charms and Funky Brooch Pins. I work on my own raw materials and its something that is nowhere available. I have a lot of new things that will be showcased at ‘By Hand, From The Heart’. You can expect to see Charms, Fridge Magnets, Badges, Posters, Stickers, Photo Frames and you can also get Story Boards and Notebooks customized!

Workdesks.jpg

About your work space.

I work from home and I have two work spaces. One with all the supplies needed for drawing, doodling and making my products, and the other one to work on my artwork digitally. I like to work in a neatly organized space because I think the time you spend searching for something is when you remember all the important things that have to be done and that’s really stressful and terrifying! It gets messy while working though, but it really makes a difference when it’s cleaned up.

Inventory Space

What is a typical working day, like.

I usually plan my day’s task the night earlier and maintain a checklist. Every day is mostly a working day and everyday is different. I have an online store and I also retail my products in few stores. I work alone, so my work mostly includes designing, making things, mailing orders, working on inventory, maintaining stock reports, traveling to source things and looking for inspirations online/offline.

a.jpg

What is your personal favorite pick at SwitchOn right now? And why?

My personal favorite pick from SwitchOn has to be the DIY Sticker Sheets. Because you can use them on various products like Notebooks, Phone Covers, and just any flat surface. It’s like working on your own personalized product.

C.jpg

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned since starting your business?

The biggest lesson I’ve learnt so far is that Consistency is everything. It’s really important to keep going and keep looking for what’s new and to stay updated. Planning makes it easier.

SwitchOn_Presskit1 (1).jpg

About Chennai

Chennai is a wonderful place to meet people from everywhere in India! So it’s also easier to understand different cultures, which is also really helpful for my Artworks.

By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 20th Edition
Date: Friday – Saturday, 7th – 8th July, 2017
Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 20th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook|Instagram|Twitter |Blog

Leave a Reply

