By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

A curated makers market event in Chennai, India. Upcoming Event: 7th – 8th July, 2017 Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

Meet The Maker: Greeshma Haridasan, Founder & Designer, pot of eARTh, Chennai

Today on Meet The makers series we feature,  Greeshma Haridasan,  from pot of eARTh, Chennai. An architect turned full time craft entrepreneur, Greeshma set up pot of eARTh  to design and create paper flowers, hand illustrated cards. With a  dream at heart and a passion for paper craft, let’s find out more about this craft enthusiast.

BHFTH-1.JPG

Can you introduce yourself and describe what you do.

I am an architect by profession and have completed my graduation from Lucknow. I grew up in Delhi/ Noida and being captivated by art and color since childhood, I always dreamed of creating something on my own. So, after dabbling in a couple of architecture jobs and few years in real estate, I felt it was time to go solo with the creative ideas that were overflowing in head. Hence “pot of eARTh” came into being, which symbolizes anything creative and colorful. It represents an earthiness, a touch of handmade and a “feeling” imbibed in every product.

I’m primarily focusing now on creating handcrafted paper flowers and custom art pieces, paintings, postcard doodles & illustrations, with concept-based budget interiors in the pipeline.

I take a lot of inspiration from nature, specially for my flowers. I study the real blooms, understanding their complex structure and try to recreate it in my own way.

I am an avid traveler, a voracious reader, love adventure sports and nature.

Why is making most important to you?

The very reason “pot of eARTh” was started, to “make”, to create unique hand-crafted products imbibed with the personal touch.

Making is very important to me as I enjoy the exhilaration and liberty it gives since you are the creator of that product. The creative journey I transpire into while making something and seeing the product evolve in front of me is deeply satisfying and propels me to jump into the process repetitively. There is no right or wrong in what I create, it’s just art perceived through my vision, an extension of me and my thoughts, which makes it a liberating experience.

BHFTH-9.JPG

What was the first thing you remember making.

I have been creatively inclined since the beginning; right from the art and craft projects I used to make at school, hence making is like second nature to me. I am always on a lookout to learn and create new things and it was in a similar instance that I stumbled upon my passion for creating these gorgeously delicate paper flowers. What started as a hobby soon turned into a crazy passion to lose my sleep on and before I knew it, I was fully immersed in it.

pot of earth_presskit2.JPG

Tell us about your recent works and your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart.

I conducted a paper flower making workshop few months back at a beautiful café by the beachside in Chennai. Lately I was keeping low on the work front due to some personal commitments, but showcasing at the BHFTH I feel is the perfect platform to meet like-minded artists and a great chance to share my work. I will be displaying majorly a varied range of blooms; all handcrafted right from the first petal to the last leaf, inspired from nature as well as some whimsical representations. These are botanical sculptures, as I would like to call it, which will fill your heart and space with color and joy.

I would also be displaying some postcard doodles and illustrations.

BHFTH-4.jpg

About your workspace. Your favourite tools?

I have been involved in shifting spaces lately, so I’m in a temporary arrangement for the time being. My favorite tools would be the pair of scissors I use to snip and cut those endless petals and leaves and the colors and pens I use for doodling.

BHFTH-2.jpg

What is a typical working day, like.

I follow an open working pattern, unless I’m working on some specific project. It’s a creative process, so it involves lot of learning and unlearning, experimenting, purchasing, and analyzing materials, thinking out various solutions and most of all, letting it be free for the ideas to strike through.

BHFTH-5.jpg

What is your personal favorite pick at pot of eARTh right now? And why?

Currently everything is a favorite pick for me as I’m involved in all the products equally. Flowers area huge favorite of mine, but if I should still say, it’s got to be the lilies as I love its individuality and the aura it carries.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned since starting your business?

That you need to keep putting in your constant efforts and see and believe in your growth. Unconventional career choices require one to be more persistent and keep moving ahead. It might take time for efforts to show up, but it surely will.

IMG_6054.JPG

About Chennai.

I have been in Chennai for the last 3 years and it’s been a special place for me. It’s here that I discovered my passion for exploring varied art forms specially paper flowers and the guts to go ahead and work/make a career out of it, something I always wanted to do. I like the city’s early morning culture, the beaches and best of all, the space the society gives out to everyone to explore and nurture your talents and I’m happy that I’m getting to display my work publicly in Chennai.

Handmade in India; make in India what does this mean to you?

India stands for its plethora of art forms, handicrafts and the traditional practices involved in creating a craft. The most basic way of creating is with your hands, which I feel truly signifies the Handmade in India context. For me, that is the most natural and organic way to approach/make any craft or art form.

By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 20th Edition
Date: Friday – Saturday, 7th – 8th July, 2017
Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 20th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook|Instagram|Twitter |Blog

 

Leave a Reply

