By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 , Jenney Residency, Coimbatore. 23rd Edition: February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Maker: Neha Murthy, Founder & Designer, Pachisi, Chennai

Today on our Meet The Maker Series we chat up with Founder & Designer, Neha Murthy of Pachisi in Chennai. Neha’s started off 2 years ago to create fabric based ancient board games and this year Neha has ventured into felt based decor and toy accessories. Let’s get to know more about her new line up of felt and fabric based and the latest at Pachisi . 

20160219_1449091

A bit about yourself. How would you describe what you do; and how long have you been making and creating?

I am Neha, founder of Pachisi. Pachisi is a brand that creates ancient board games on fabric. I started this venture nearly two years back with an aim to revive old games and encourage people to play them.

Pachisi was actually my final year project in college. It was during this period that I realised that many people were not aware of old Indian games. Post college, I took this up as a full-time job to design and develop board games on fabric that are visually attractive. Over these two years, Pachisi has re-created not just Indian games but also other ancient games from across the world. And now I have ventured into felt based decor and toys .

pachisi_presskit1.jpg

What’s been your career highlight so far?

I always believed that I didn’t have the skill to sew or do any sort of embroidery.I couldn’t even put a thread successfully into a needle in the first attempt!But I really don’t know what took over me and started a range of felt products that are handcrafted. The decision to branch out and explore a different product range has so far been the best decision I have taken. It has been challenging but the response has been great and honestly I see a growth now at Pachisi.

pachisi_presskit2.jpg

What has surprised you most about starting a creative business?

When I started off, I thought things would naturally work out. But I realised I have to slog it out. Designing and making a product is just one part of the business but marketing and selling is hard! You constantly have to post and keep yourself updated on social media and for someone like me who is not a very social media savvy, it is difficult. I also have to keep updating and managing my inventory, which is not difficult, but definitely time consuming.

Pachisi_presskit3.jpg

Tell us about your proposed showcase at the By Hand, From The Heart.

I will be showcasing my felt products. You will get to see various products for your child’s room such as Felt Mobiles, Hangings and Crib Garlands. You will also find Finger Puppets to keep your little one entertained. Apart from that, some felt magnets and Pachisi’s ancient board games such as Dayakattam, Chauka Bara, Senet and many more.

workinprogress.jpg

Handmade/Made in India/ Make in India –  What does it mean to you

Handmade products always feel more personal to me. I feel that by buying handmade products we support someone’s passion. There is so much thought and quality behind making each product. Each piece will always turn out to be unique.I also feel we extend our support to local craftsman and artisans by buying handmade.

By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 20th Edition
Date: Friday – Saturday, 7th – 8th July, 2017
Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 20th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook|Instagram|Twitter |Blog

Leave a Reply

