By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

By Hand From The Heart is a curated Makers Market event in South India. Upcoming Events: 22nd Edition: 2nd – 3rd February '18 in Coimbatore | 23rd Edition: 16th – 17th – February '18 in Chennai.

Meet The Maker: Mani Shanker Singh, Fashion Designer and Founder, Son Of A Noble SNOB, Bangalore

Today on our Meet The Makers Series; we feature Mani Shanker Singh, Fashion Designer and Founder of Son Of A Noble SNOB, Bangalore. Let’s get to know about his design venture, work space, favourites picks at SNOB and his showcase at the By Hand From The Heart Makers Market this July 2017.

snob.jpg

A bit about yourself and Son Of A Noble SNOB?

We are a menswear label located out of Bangalore. Our portfolio consists of  Shirts, Tees and Pocket Squares. We have a strong visual language & maintain a high end quality which flows seamless across our brand. I call this label an extension of myself – my style, art &  wit.

How do you define Son Of A Noble SNOB design sensibilities and your shopper?

Our customers are men who like to dress unique, keep it simple and look sophisticated. Though we are a menswear brand, a lot of women too are picking up SNOB.

Creating a new line up at Son Of A Noble SNOB. What’s involved?

Deep thinking, hard work, self criticism, persistence to constantly improve,exploring newness and aiming perfection. It finishes with honesty, A design is complete when I can tell that I love it and I would love to wear it.

IMG_20170705_131219_534.jpg

Describe your typical day at Son Of A Noble SNOB

We are a lean team so we do’not plan the work, the work plans us. We prioritise the day by finishing our check list. We give a lot of time, focus and energy in design development.

Your work space 

We work out of a design studio in HSR Layout, Bangalore. We are on the 4th  floor with a lot of sunlight, fresh air and a terrace. Along with the label, we also have a design agency where we give A-Z fashion solution to other firms with services ranging from design collection, shoots, campaigns, visual merchandising & even web design.

IMG_20170705_130929_424.jpg

 

What are you bringing to By Hand, From The Heart.

Firstly I just love the concept of this show and the way it looks at focusing on authenticity. The name BY HAND FROM THE HEART says it all. What I am bringing here is my take on men’s fashion with a unique graphic language. There are no two ways around it. Either one loves it or  just doesn’t! We bring some sophisticated minimal fashion that is not  overdone or exaggerated.

What’s your favourite Son Of A Noble SNOB pick? And why? 

I like designs that are intelligent. Designs that are minimal and sophisticated. We have recently designed a shirt where you don’t need a tie ! Well if you want to know what I am talking about, then you need to visit me here.

What’s the best thing about being a fashion entrepreneur?  

Having my own voice to translate in my own visual language where I get to express freely and create what I truly believe in. Apart from just design, being a entrepreneur constantly challenges me to diversify and explore new possibilities.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve gotten along the way in building your business?

Ummm… the importance of building and maintaining relationships. I take it a step further. One should also constantly try and help people in every possible way.

 

About Chennai.

My best memories of Chennai goes back to 1993. I have hazy memories of  visiting the city with my parents. This was first time I had seen the ocean. I was  quite fascinated by The Golden Beach. I also remember finding the name T- Nagar quite amusing ! I imagined it to be a tea colony 🙂

I am quite a foodie. In recent years I have explored some great food in Chennai.     Murugan Idli Kadai tops my chart. I also went to this old Andhra mess in a narrow lane near the station which has been there from the time when there was one MADRAS state. The owner was very courteous and treated to some of the best spices.

By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 20th Edition
Date: Friday – Saturday, 7th – 8th July, 2017
Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 20th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook|Instagram|Twitter |Blog

 

Leave a Reply

