By Hand From The Heart: One Show, Many Stories!

A curated makers market event in Chennai, India. Upcoming Event: 7th – 8th July, 2017 Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

Meet The Maker: Vineeta Nair, Founder and Designer, Art&Light, Mumbai

Today on our Meet The Maker Series, we present Vineeta Nair of Artnlight, Mumbai. Vineeta wears many hats – she’s a blogger, design consultant, decoupage goddess, avid traveler and above all a fantastic visual genius. Let’s find out more about Vineeta – her creative venture, inspirations and her latest works inspired by Mahakavi Bharathiyar’s famous and inspirational poem “Manathil Uruthi Vendum” . Her story…

Vineeta nair profile pic.jpg

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself and describe what you do.

I began my career as a graphic designer and then an art director in advertising. When I discovered blogging I did not know it will change my life. Artnlight was first a blog born out of my love for art, for travel, for sharing my passion for it. I am inspired by anyone who does brilliant work and that I could share my finds and discoveries through my blog was extremely exciting for me when I began blogging in August 2007, this was pre-social media, Facebook had not yet boomed in India. My blog was a way I connected with artists in India and abroad.

Inspired by what I saw when I was blogging, I started making my first few products for an exhibition in June 2009. The response was so encouraging, that with baby steps and at my own time, I kept making more products, I kept improving the finish, I kept selling. Initially all over India, then to London, Singapore, Dubai. That today ArtnLight is a brand with its own online store is something I look at with wonder. And gratitude.

 

Artnlight+Yellow+Botanical+Series.jpg

Why is making so important to you?

Making is important, because it is a privilege and an opportunity to express myself with my art and designs in a way that is relevant and useful to the person who uses my product. Whether it is creating a Mug, a tray or a box it is a way to create or bring a bit of beauty or meaning in our everyday life. It is an opportunity to engage with art.

Your work space and favorite tools.

My work space would be in my head or where ever I happen to be really. Current favourite and useful tools are my trusted Laptop, Camera, and whatever it is I sketch or paint with depending on what I want to execute.

IMG_0109.JPG

Any design story you would like to share.

The new range has been exclusively designed for Chennai and for the By Hand From The Heart Show. And it is literally true to the name “By Hand From The Heart”
This design range is a tribute to Mahakavi Bharathiyar’s famous and inspirational poem “Manathil Uruthi Vendum”
The lyrics of this poem had struck a deep chord in me from the time I first time I heard it. And I have always wanted to design something with these words, which is as timeless as it is relevant and inspiring to anyone aspiring to live an aware, purposeful and happy life.

This collection is very close to my heart, and I did not wish to use a readymade Tamil font, but wanted it to be handwritten to convey feeling. For this I approached Uma Balasubramanium, who for me embodies so many qualities mentioned in this poem. In her 70s Uma lives a simple life and takes on each day with so much enthusiasm and integrity.

For the lover of the Tamil script, Bharatiyaar and for anyone who resonates with the words, the poem is a powerful reminder of how one needs to look at and approach each day in ones life.

Food Script Typographic Crockery 2.jpg

Your inspirations.
For me inspiration is what makes the world go round. It is what allows new things to happen, it is what creates wonder, a hope and finally the intention and will to change. Be it things in your life, yourself, be it the world around you or your relationships. Inspiration for me is that 1st seed which makes the world a better place. It is what makes me challenge myself, makes me look at newer things, gives me the courage to explore and go beyond my comfort zone, each time. It is what propels me to go looking for beauty and then the inspiration I find makes me come back and want to create or re-create a bit of that in my life. Inspiration is what binds me to you and creates the joy in the 6 degrees of separation or connectedness – whichever way you look at it.

My inspirations are people who have the courage to follow their heart and listen to its voice and actively and regularly act on it. Inspiration is what I find when I take my products to exhibitions. I find inspiration in my fellow entrepreneurs, in their journeys, in their challenges which might be different but as daunting as mine. But when I see them, I am assured that here are these guys, doing what they are doing, with as much hard work, as much commitment and as much courage. And it gives me the only push I need to keep on.

Udai Surya tray & Mug set 1.jpg

What are your displaying at the By Hand, From The Heart.
I will be displaying my Trays, Boxes, Crockery, cushions, decorative wall plates.

What is a typical working day, like.

A typical work day is meeting whatever has to be done on priority and following my heart. And finding the balance and between these two. Because just the term creative entrepreneur means bringing your left and right brain in a harmonious and productive co-existence. This has its own set of challenges and ensuring that I stay both productive and inspired and doing what I need towards this dictates the day.

Artnlight Hand Shloka series.jpg

What is your personal favorite pick from your collection right now? And why?

Right now it will have to be the newest products I’m launching which is a tribute to Mahakavi Bharatiyar’s poetry. It only just about touches the surface. But I’m happy to bring it out there as a buyable product.

IMG_0103.JPG

Handmade in India / Make in India – what does this mean to you?
It means creating work that is meaningful, beautiful and touches the person using it. This could mean it is partially or completely handmade. But meaning is important. Beauty is important. Relevance is important. And if your work can touch a heart then, it truly fulfills the purpose of the attempt.

Make in India is important because self expression and genuineness and integrity to ones work is what will bring in solutions to an automated consumercentric world. It will make both the creator and the consumer think and feel. To do both of this is the need of the hour.

One might not be able to completely make an end to end sustainable product today, but if the seed of thought is sown, the journey has begun and if not today, then in a foreseeable future better solutions will become a possibility and a reality.

By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 20th Edition
Date: Friday – Saturday, 7th – 8th July, 2017
Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Venue: Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Address: 132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, Tamil Nadu. India

LINKS: 20th Edition Makers Market Event Page | Facebook|Instagram|Twitter |Blog

Leave a Reply

