Coimbatore Event: Meet the Maker: Pabitha Prakash & Bhanumathy Balaji, KRITI, Salem  

Today on the blog we feature, Pabitha Prakash & Bhanumathy Balaji; lets find out more about these two friends who founded an art based craft venture – KRITI. The team shares with us in detail; about their  venture, inspirations, and about their 1st showcase in Coimbatore at the By Hand From The Heart Makers this February 2018. Read on…

IMG_6145.jpg

Tell us a bit about yourself

Pabitha Prakash – I am an Electronic media studies graduate, who has always been artistically inclined. Colors and designs fascinate me. Quitting my job, moving cities post marriage, my design took a back seat for years. In 2015, along with my elder daughter, I explored various arts and crafts. Around 2016, I reacquainted myself with  canvas and fabric paintings. After a few months I contemplated of taking my art commercially,  KRITI my craft venture is a result of that.

Bhanumathy Balaji – I am a Business administration graduate, art & craft hobbyist and an entrepreneur myself. Three things fascinate me the most – Art, textiles and food; these are my biggest stress busters too.  So, when the opportunity presented itself with KRITI, I took it up with no second thoughts.

Kriti_Presskit1.JPG

What inspired you to start your Business?

Pabitha Prakash – A home project started it all for me. A wall art for the toy area at home motivated me to take things forward. Hailing from a business family I wanted to set an example to my children; the importance of being independent and putting your best effort to pursue your dreams and passion.

I discussed the same with Bhanumathy, as we always do; she encouraged me to pursue something which I love doing. From time to time she offered some suggestions and discussed ideas, which eventually lead to us starting KRITI.

It’s at this stage that we decided to take KRITI to a larger audience. We also thought of providing something which is not just art, but it can also be put to use. Thus we ventured into décor elements and other functional art works. We work on different mediums including wood, fabrics, metal and so on.

We share lots of ideas, we discuss hours together to stand unique in all possible ways. We just love what we do, we have long hours of conversations, we take time to sit and discuss even the smallest of details, and when we see our finished product or client review we just feel delightful and are grateful that our ideas has come to life and are as loved and appreciated.

Kriti_Curatorpick2.JPG

Your biggest support .

Our respective life partners are our biggest supporters and pillar of strength. They push us in doing things we love and provides us with the much needed time and space, taking over tending to the family demands in their hands. They are also our strongest critics.

Both my children are understanding and helpful in their own ways. My eldest, shares quite a few ideas and has big plans of taking this venture forward in the future. My youngest is quite and a very observant toddler; she keenly watches whenever I work.

Tell us about your work space.

Pabitha Prakash – We independently from two different cities. I work out of my home in Salem and Bhanumathy works from her office space at Tiruppur. As a team, Bhanumathy takes care of procuring raw materials, vendor management, social media and promotions. I do the artworks on various mediums and all related works.

Kriti_blogmeetthemaker3.JPG

What are you displaying at the By Hand From The Heart?

We will display functional art pieces in wood and MDF. The products include wooden boxes, serving trays, ladles, coasters, photo frames, candle holders, wall plates, platters. We are also bringing our most loved pallanguzhi collections and launching a new product in our board games range – Dhaayam (Pachisi).

Meet the Maker at By Hand From The Heart: MAKERS MARKET – 22nd Edition
Date: Friday – Saturday, 2nd – 3rd February, 2018
Time: 10:00 a.m – 8:00 p.m
Venue: Jenneys Residency – Ruby Hall & Art Houz Gallery
Address: 2/2, Avinashi Road, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu 641014. India.

LINKS: Event Page | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Blog

 

Leave a comment