Meet The Maker: Shilpa Mitha of Sueño Souvenir, Chennai

Today on the blog we feature, food miniaturist, Shilpa Mitha of Sueño Souvenir, Chennai.  Shilpa talks about her creative business and her showcase at our upcoming makers market event here in Chennai. Read on …
suenosouvenir_blogmeetthemaker1.jpg

Tell us a bit about yourself.

A Chennai-ite by heart, an engineer by degree, a musician by passion and eventually a food miniaturist by profession.

How did you begin Sueño Souvenir and how has it evolved over the years?

My career as a food miniaturist was something that was meant to be I guess. It was nothing more than an accidental discovery. It started out as a hobby way back in April 2011. A pair of burger earrings led me to working  with clay instead of paper which then led me to the idea of making Indian food. There has been no looking back since then.

suenosouvenir_presskit3.JPG

Why is making so important to you? 

The satisfaction one gets after creating something from the scratch, I don’t think anything could match up to that feeling! It is a very personal joy and that joy comes back every single time I create something new.

Can you describe in detail your work space.

I currently work from my room and my work space is just a simple table with my PC since I need to have image references while I’m working. They aren’t demanding in terms of space so this works!

suenosouvenir_blogmeetthemaker33.jpg

Describe your artistic process. 

My artistic process sometimes depends on what I feel like eating that day! That’s the fun about miniature food. Inspiration can come from my plate, Instagram feed, kitchen… absolutely anywhere! I look for good images on the net and also read about the dish and the ingredients that go into it. I start with the ingredients then. Once they’re all done, I put the dish together and add the detailing. It’s very similar to the real cooking process except that I need to make my own ingredients and no one can eat it.

What is currently on your work table?
There are tomatoes, grains of rice, pieces of chicken, donuts, pomegranate seeds, fish, curd rice, onions, mushrooms! And plates. Lots of them!

suenosouvenir_presskit2

What is your personal favorite pick from Sueño Souvenir  right now? And why?

Curd rice! It’s the most simple basic dish in any South Indian’s house! And I turned that into a piece of art. I like the fact that we can now decorate the outside of a fridge with the stuff we usually keep inside.

suenosouvenir_blogmeetthemaker2

What are you displaying at the By Hand, From The Heart.
Lots of food miniatures and may be a couple of room-boxes!

BHFTH.jpg

Meet the Maker @
By Hand From The Heart Makers Market 24th Edition
Friday – Saturday
24th – 25th August, 2018
10:00 a.m to 8:00 p.m
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park, (old Adyar Gate Hotel)
132, T.T.K Road, Alwarpet, Chennai – 600018, India.

Follow us on : Facebook Event Page | Facebook | Instagram | Blog

Leave a comment